94 Enticer - Where to start?

SB Racing

Being a dirt bike guy living in eastern Canada makes for some long stretches looking out the window waiting for the snow to disappear. We do stud the tires, and mid winter, after packing down our trails get out for a some rips. The trail prep sucks. Have you ever tied yourself into a harness and dragged a tire through the woods? Anyway my buddy has been after me to get an old sled and after much searching and hand wringing about what to get I found a sweet 79 Enticer 340 that had a full restoration 2 years prior. I showed it to my wife who ask if there was a back rest.... back to searching, with thoughst about what a selfish SOB I must be. Lol

I came across a 94 Enticer II with 3900 km and did the thing that most advise not to do - buy the first sled you look at. It's a lot bigger than I wanted for a bush sled, but it is pretty cherry, runs good and the reverse with articulating track should be handy as I'm a complete noob.

So where do I start? There a bit of play in the steering, not much and looking at the design I'm not sure it can be completely eliminated. The vinyl on the rear of the seat had lifted sometime in its near 30 years of life and the wood plate rotted at the back, so I ripped that out and will replace it this week. Seems like a job within my skills. Not sure about the suspension, seems to go up and down albeit not very smoothly. No damage at all so really I'll look over fuel lines and probably replace them if they're looking original and dry. The 2 spare spark plugs next to the original and intact tool kit look like they've been there for a few decades so I'll toss them and get new ones.

Cables for go and whoa are clean and smooth. I guess their only thing to really is top up the gas and go see what fails - once we have enough snow. Any advice, thoughts things to look at I'd appreciate benefiting from those with the knowledge. Like I said, first sled and know little to nothing about them.

Last edited: